NAWAC Annual Report Released

15 July 2005

The 2004 National Animal Welfare Advisory Committee (NAWAC) Annual Report was issued today.

Deputy Chairperson of NAWAC, Dr Selwyn Dobbinson, said the bulk of the committee's work has been focused on the development of codes of welfare.

These codes, issued under the Animal Welfare Act 1999, outline the minimum standards required for the care and protection of animals.

2004 saw the completion of four codes of welfare, which are the Circuses, Layer Hens, Pigs and Zoo codes.

Dr Dobbinson acknowledges that drafting the codes is a time consuming and complex issue.

"A number of factors need to be taken into account such as the extensive public consultation process, which ensures the committee involves all sectors of the public before advising the Minister."

NAWAC is an independent advisory committee to the Minister of Agriculture. The committee is established under section 56 of the Animal Welfare Act 1999 to provide advice to the Minister on matters relating to the welfare of animals in New Zealand and to develop codes of welfare.

Other codes currently underway include Cats, Commercial Slaughter, Deer, Dairy Cattle, Dogs and Sea Transport.

A copy of the annual report is available at:

Media Contact:
Joseph Wallace
MAF Communication Adviser
(04) 498 96 37
027 210 2588



Last Updated: 28 September 2010

Related Items

No related resources found

Contact MPI

for general enquiries phone

0800 00 83 33