New Animal Ethics Committee chairperson named

1 December 1999

Barrister and North Shore City Councillor Wyn Hoadley is the new chairperson of the National Animal Ethics Advisory Committee (NAEAC).

Mrs Hoadley took over the reins from retiring chairperson Keith Robinson.

The position of NAEAC chairperson is an independent. The Minister for Food, Fibre, Biosecurity and Border Control makes the

Mrs Hoadley is a barrister practising in the areas of public law, resource management and building law. She has a strong background in local government having been the former mayor of Takapuna and having served as a North Shore city councillor since 1992.

She is a member of a number of statutory boards: she has been chairperson of the Trustees of the National Library, served on the BRANZ Board (Building Research Association of New Zealand), is a former chairperson of the Barrier-free NZ trust, and deputy chairperson of the Auckland University Technology Board.

The National Animal Ethics Advisory Committee provides independent advice to the Minister for Food, Fibre, Biosecurity and Border Control on policy and practices relating to the use of animals in research, testing, teaching and the production of biological agents.

Committee members are appointed on a personal capacity, but nominated by national bodies from a variety of disciplines, including the education sector, local government, research groups, veterinarians, health researchers and the RNZSPCA. Members are appointed for a three-year term. The committee was established in 1984 and will continue to play an important national role under the new Animal Welfare Act, which commences on 1 January 2000.

For further information contact:
Wyn Hoadley, NAEAC chairperson, Telephone: 09 489 9348 or 025 856 105



Last Updated: 21 September 2010

Contact MPI

for general enquiries phone

0800 00 83 33