Wood supply regions and territorial authorities

There are currently 72 district and city councils in New Zealand. These are grouped to form 10 wood supply regions of broadly similar growth patterns for radiata pine, representing wood supply and processing catchments. These wood supply regions are: Northland, Auckland, Central North Island, East Coast, Hawke's Bay, Southern North Island, Nelson and Marlborough, Canterbury, West Coast and Southland.

Wood supply region table and figures


Last Updated: 17 December 2010

Contact MPI

for general enquiries phone

0800 00 83 33