New Zealand Food Safety Summit

We’ll be hosting the New Zealand Food Safety Summit in Auckland on 10 December 2019. Find out about the summit, and register.

New Zealand Food Safety Summit 2019

About the summit

The New Zealand Food Safety Summit will be held on 10 December 2019 in Auckland. The summit is your chance to:

  • hear from the most influential players in the food industry – from New Zealand and overseas
  • meet key government representatives, food industry, and food safety leaders
  • participate and progress the future of food safety in New Zealand.

We’ll be highlighting the importance of the New Zealand food safety system and how it:

  • remains robust in responding to challenges
  • imparts confidence for consumers during times of uncertainty.

We’ll also be launching our strategy for New Zealand Food Safety.

Summit details

  • Tuesday 10 December 2019
  • 9am to 5.30pm (registrations from 8am, and networking reception from 5:30pm)
  • Grand Millennium Hotel, Auckland
  • $300 + GST earlybird tickets (until 25 November) and $450 + GST for general tickets (from 29 November)
  • Ticket price includes a complimentary breakfast (8am) and entry to the networking reception

Register now


New Zealand Food Safety Summit 2019 programme [PDF, 654 KB]

Find out more about the summit


  • Ensure New Zealand’s world-class food safety system remains robust in responding to future challenges.
  • Proactively support New Zealanders to feel confident making choices about food.
  • Lead new thinking in international forums to expand our international influence.
  • Be an intelligence-led business that strengthens this country’s food future.


Keynote speakers

Hon Damien O’Connor (Minister for Food Safety)
Ray Smith (director-general, Ministry for Primary Industries)
Bryan Wilson (deputy director-general, New Zealand Food Safety)

International speakers

Dr Tim Jackson (vice president, Food Safety, Regulatory and Social Compliance, Driscoll’s)
Dr Amy Kircher (director, Food Protection and Defense Institute, University of Minnesota)
Mike Lee (founder, The Future Market)
Dr Guilherme da Costa (Chairperson, Codex Alimentarius Commission)

New Zealand speakers

Kelli Brett (editor/co-director, Cuisine)
Sue Chetwin (chief executive, Consumer New Zealand)
Ray McVinnie (food writer)
Philip Houlding (director, International Policy, Ministry for Primary Industries)
John Morgan (chief executive, New Zealand Food Innovation Network)
Dr Nick Roskruge (associate professor in horticulture, Massey University)
Dr Steve Hathaway (chief food safety scientist, New Zealand Food Safety)
Last reviewed: