New Zealand Biosecurity Awards categories

Find out about the 8 award categories and the entry criteria for each.

Eight award categories

The New Zealand Biosecurity Awards has 8 categories. If entering, you should choose the category best suited to the biosecurity work, the individual, or the group that deserves recognition.

Entries for the 2018 awards had to relate to a programme/project that was started, carried out, or completed over the past 18 months (that is, since February 2017).

The Supreme Award

All category winners are eligible for the New Zealand Biosecurity Supreme Award.

Why enter?

Pride and sense of achievement

Sometimes we forget to celebrate and recognise the people, projects, teams, businesses, and communities that are doing amazing things to protect New Zealand's biosecurity system.

Boost your profile

Raise your community, business, or personal profile. Finalists and winners may receive media coverage about their achievements. As a finalist or winner of a New Zealand Biosecurity Award 2018 you will gain invaluable recognition as an individual, organisation, hapu or industry delivering excellence in the area of biosecurity. This will support the positive image of your organisation, project, or associated work.

Evaluated by the best

By entering or nominating an individual or organisation for an award, you have the opportunity to be evaluated by a team of highly-respected professionals. 

Recognition and reward

The announcement of the award finalists and the awards dinner will provide an opportunity for celebration and networking with others throughout varied areas of business and expertise. All award finalists will receive: 

  • 2 tickets to attend the awards dinner in Auckland on Monday 12 November
  • a certificate of achievement
  • inclusion in the awards collateral and communications programme.

New Zealand Biosecurity Community Award finalists will also have their travel and accommodation costs met by the programme.
Awards winners will receive:

  • a trophy and certificate of achievement
  • a chance to say a few words at the dinner ceremony
  • inclusion in the awards collateral, media and communications programme
  • a chance to be part of the awards session at the Biosecurity New Zealand Forum on Tuesday 13 November 2018.

The New Zealand Biosecurity Community Award winner will also receive a cash prize of $2,500.  

Last reviewed:
Has this been useful? Give us your feedback