Biosecurity Award finalists reflect huge national effort in biosecurity

Media contact: MPI media team
Telephone: 029 894 0328

There is a heartening national effort taking place to safeguard the country’s biosecurity, says New Zealand Biosecurity Awards judging panel chair, Dr John Hellstrom.

"We were excited to receive over 60 very high calibre entries, making the judging task difficult, but rewarding," Dr Hellstrom says.

The Biosecurity Awards were established 2 years ago to recognise and celebrate exemplary contributions to protecting our taonga (precious natural resources) and ensuring New Zealand's biosecurity system remains resilient, effective, and world-leading.

The awards reflect the spirit of the newly launched biosecurity brand Ko Tātou This Is Us which has been created to help build a biosecurity team of 4.7 million – all New Zealanders.

Award winners will be announced at a dinner function during the annual Biosecurity Forum in Auckland on 12 November.

A Ministerial award recognising a contribution to biosecurity over many years will be awarded on the night.

Those with an interest in biosecurity are encouraged to register for the Biosecurity New Zealand Forum which will explore the many different approaches to and motivations for biosecurity.

Topics covered include the relationship between biosecurity and biodiversity; new approaches to tough biosecurity problems and examples of how innovative thinking can improve biosecurity protection.

NZ Biosecurity Award finalists

Department of Conservation Community Award

Community GroupProject

The Forest Bridge Trust

Forest Bridge Trust Catch IT Programme

Pirongia Te Aroaro o Kahu Restoration Society

Restoring Kokako to Mt Pirongia

Sanctuary Mountain Maungatautari

Sanctuary Mountain Maungatautari

Te Puni Kōkiri Māori Award


Te Rūnanga o Te Rarawa 

Warawara Whakaora Ake

Te Kawerau Iwi Tribal Authority and Settlement Trust

Waitakere Rahui

Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Te Rangi Iwi Trust

Tauranga Moana Iwi Biosecurity Efforts

GIA Industry Award


Kiwifruit Vine Health

Kiwifruit Vine Health

Independent Verification Services (IVS) Ltd

MTF: Working in partnership to improve biosecurity outcomes

Morven Action Group   

Morven Action Group


Mondiale Innovation Award 


Waikaitu Ltd

Waikaitu Ltd - Fruitguard Osmoprotectant

Jacson3 Limited

Jacson3 and its portable footwear biosecurity system, the Jacson Cube®

Te Kawerau Iwi Tribal Authority and Settlement Trust

Waitakere Rahui

Biological Heritage Challenge Science Award


National Institute of Water & Atmospheric Research Ltd (NIWA)

Dr Graeme Inglis; leading marine biosecurity science

Scion (New Zealand Forest Research Institute)

Protecting New Zealand's primary sector from plant pests; a toolkit for the urban battlefield

Plant and Food Research, Auckland Council, Te Tira Whakamaataki, Biological Heritage National Science Challenge,  Rongawhakaata Iwi and Ngāti Ruapani ki Turanga Iwi

Dr Nick Waipara - te taura e herea nei te putaiao me Te Ao Maori. Science excellence in biosecurity

Eagle Technology Local and Central Government Award


Environment Southland

Fiordland Marine Pathway Management Plan

Northland Regional Council Pest Control Hub

Northland Regional Council Pest Control Hub

AsureQuality Emerging Leader Award

Sophia Clark

Northland Regional Council

Dr Amanda Black

Te Kawerau A Maki

Last reviewed: