Adverse events

The New Zealand government helps rural communities and individuals recover from adverse events, including natural disasters, severe weather, and biosecurity incursions. Find out how MPI classifies adverse events, what help may be available, and how you can prepare.

Rural Support Trusts are here to help

Your first point of contact when you need help during or after an adverse event is your local Rural Support Trust.

Types of adverse events

Adverse events can be:

MPI classifies adverse events on a scale

MPI has 3 classifications for adverse events:

  • localised 
  • medium scale
  • large scale.

This classification helps the Government decide what help will be available and what actions to take.

Think ahead and be prepared

It's important to think ahead and be prepared for adverse events. This is one of the best ways to speed recovery and to build your business and family's resilience. It's the responsibility of individuals and the community to make sure they are as ready as can be for an adverse event.  

Last reviewed: