New Zealand Biosecurity Awards

The New Zealand Biosecurity Awards recognise and celebrate outstanding contributions to protecting our country. Find out about the awards and the 2020 and 2019 winners.


16 November: Winners announced

Winners were announced at an awards dinner in Wellington on 16 November.

Media release: Biosecurity champions honoured at 2020 awards night

23 September: Finalists announced

Read our media release announcing the finalists

Recognising biosecurity champions

The New Zealand Biosecurity Awards are our way of celebrating people and organisations across the country who are contributing to New Zealand's biosecurity – in our communities, businesses, schools, iwi and Māori organisations, universities, councils, government agencies.

We want to recognise the incredible individuals and teams who are working hard to help ensure our country and its unique environment are safe from pests and diseases through their contributions – through science, research, and innovations – to biosecurity.

It takes all of us to protect what we've got but there are a few champions worth celebrating.

Who can be nominated?

Men fishing on beach and text about the NZ Biosecurity Awards

The awards are open to people and organisations across New Zealand who contribute to biosecurity. Individuals, groups, and up-and-coming leaders.

This year the awards included a dedicated award for schools. Entries for this award were open to teams, classes, rōpū and enviro-groups in early childhood centres, primary, intermediate, and secondary kura/schools who were working to protect New Zealand from pests and diseases. The winning group received a $2,500 prize.

2019 biosecurity award winners

The 2019 award winners were announced on 4 November 2019 at an awards dinner in Auckland.

Check the full list of 2019 award winners – Ko Tātou This Is Us

Media release – 5 November 2019

Last reviewed: