New Zealand Food Awards

New Zealand Food Safety supports the New Zealand Food Awards. We sponsor 2 categories of the awards – the Food Safety Culture Award and the Primary Sector Products Award. Winners for the 2019 awards were announced on 23 October 2019.

About the awards

The Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI) has been a major sponsor of the New Zealand Food Awards since 2008 and has sponsored different award categories over that time. The awards are owned and organised by Massey University.

Primary Sector Products Award

This award is open to all primary sector food and beverage products where producers, researchers, and manufacturers have added value through the introduction of:

  • new varieties, cultivars, or breeds
  • new or alternative harvesting, processing or packaging to extract or create new or innovative primary sector products.

Food Safety Culture Award

This award was introduced in 2016. This sponsorship promotes New Zealand Food Safety as a food safety regulator with a commitment in the establishment, maintenance and innovation of business cultures that focus on customer safety up and down the food supply chain.

2019 award winners

New Zealand Food Safety, Primary Sector Products Award

A pouch of quinoa, alongside a New Zealand Food Awards winner logo.

Retail Pouch of Wholegrain Quinoa, Kiwi Quinoa Limited

Previous winners


New Zealand Food Safety, Food Safety Culture Award – Picot Productions Ltd, Nelson

New Zealand Food Safety, Primary Sector Products Award – Alliance Group Ltd, Christchurch with Te Mana Lamb


MPI Food Safety Culture Award – The Pure Food Co

MPI Primary Sector Products Award – T&G Global Limited


MPI Food Safety Culture Award – Open Country Dairy LTD

MPI Primary Sector Products Award – Spring Sheep Milk Co.


MPI New Cultivars/ Primary Producers Award – NZ Hothouse Ltd


MPI Dell Award – A Verkerk Ltd

Last reviewed: