New Zealand Seafood Sustainability Awards

Find out about the awards and how to enter.

About the awards

The awards celebrate industry, tangata whenua, and our communities who are dedicated to ensuring the sustainability of New Zealand’s fisheries and aquaculture. The theme is “Ngā kaitiaki o Tangaroa: Guardians of Seafood”.

It’s a chance to recognise individuals and groups that have been involved in innovation, science, leadership, or community engagement that promotes the present and future sustainability of New Zealand’s seafood sector.

How to enter

Who should enter

Award categories

Terms and conditions

Award dates

18 October 2019: Entries open.

1 December 2019: Entries close.

January 2020: Finalists announced.

March 2020: Winners announced at the award’s ceremony in Wellington.

How to enter

Entries for the inaugural New Zealand Seafood Sustainability Awards are now closed. Thank you so much to those who submitted nominations, finalists for the awards will be announced early February 2020.

Who should enter?

Individuals, groups, communities, and organisations are eligible for nomination. The important thing is that they have made a significant innovation that promotes sustainability in New Zealand’s fisheries and aquaculture sector.

Nominations can be made by:

  • anyone who knows of an individual, group, community, or organisation that is experimenting with innovative new ways to improve the seafood sector
  • an employee who has been part of an innovative project
  • an industry body that has seen great results from a member’s business.

You can also nominate yourself for any of the awards except the Emerging Leader Award or Minister of Fisheries’ Award.

If you are an individual or part of a group, community, or organisation who are making an effort, we encourage you to talk to your community, industry organisations, or regional bodies about nominating you for an award.

We’ll contact you if you’re nominated and let you know if we need more details.

Eligibility criteria

Nominees must be individuals, groups, communities, or organisations who are actively involved in the seafood sector or provide support services to New Zealand’s seafood sector. Support services represent a diverse range of activities including:

  • input manufacturing
  • equipment manufacture and maintenance
  • transport services
  • professional services.

Permission must be sought from the nominee before a nomination is made.

Employees of the Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI) are not eligible for nomination.

Nomination requirements

All nominations must be supported by:

  • a summary of the entry
  • a detailed description of the programmes, processes, or practices that have been put in place to contribute to the sustainability of New Zealand’s seafood sector, and
  • the nominee’s explanation of why the individual, organisation, or business deserves to be recognised.

Where appropriate, the nomination should include details of where and when noteworthy activities took place.

What will winners receive?

Winners and finalists of the New Zealand Seafood Sustainability Awards 2019/2020 will be recognised at an awards ceremony to be held in Wellington in March 2020. Finalists (or their representatives) and guests will be invited to attend free of charge. Up to 2 highly commended applications in each category may also be recognised and invited to attend the ceremony.

All finalists will receive a certificate of recognition.

Each category winner will be presented with a framed certificate. They will be acknowledged in the New Zealand Seafood Sustainability Awards 2019/2020 booklet and also receive:

  • a trophy
  • reimbursement for travel and accommodation for the award ceremony (for a representative plus 2 guests, up to $500)
  • an invitation to participate in future MPI initiatives to promote good fisheries and aquaculture practices – for example, speaking engagements.

All other nominees for the New Zealand Seafood Sustainability Awards will be sent a certificate of recognition.

If you’re highly commended

Up to 2 entries in each category may be awarded a highly commended certificate and acknowledged in the New Zealand Seafood Sustainability Awards booklet.

The awards

Nomination assessment

Nominations will be assessed by the New Zealand Seafood Sustainability Awards 2019/2020 judging panel. This panel will comprise 5 respected professionals who:

  • are independent of central government
  • have expertise in a relevant area
  • have a range of experience to cover the expected variety of entries (such as technical, conservation, production, market access, or support services).

What else you need to know

  • Information contained in an award winner's nomination may be used by the Ministry for Primary Industries for promotional purposes.
  • The judging panel reserves the right not to issue an award if, in its opinion, nominations do not adequately meet the criteria.
  • Fisheries New Zealand will liaise with awards finalists regarding the details of their invitation to the awards dinner, and their participation in future initiatives to promote good practice in the seafood sector.
  • Any final decisions regarding the arrangements and details of prizes lie with Fisheries New Zealand.
  • Judging panel decisions are final and not subject to appeal.
  • Nominations are confidential.
  • Any personal information that is collected will be used and stored in accordance with the Ministry for Primary Industries’ privacy policy.

Who to contact

If you have any questions about the awards, email

Last reviewed: