Significant Contribution to Food Safety Award

The Significant Contribution to Food Safety Award recognises a person or group who has helped improve food safety in New Zealand. The 2020 winner is Aaron Dodunski (Mobile Beef Packers).

2020 award winners

The 2020 Significant Contribution to Food Safety Award was presented to Aaron Dodunski (Mobile Beef Packers) at the New Zealand Institute of Food Science and Technology (NZIFST) Awards in Wellington on 29 October.

Aaron Dodunski and his wife Jo are the owners of Mobile Beef Packers, based in Auckland's Pukekohe East. Mobile Beef Packers is the first mobile abattoir with a registered risk management programme (RMP) to process and sell beef, lamb, and deer on the New Zealand market. They are also the first mobile abattoir in New Zealand for the local trade market.

Six years in the making, Aaron built the company as a modern initiative to service farmers and small livestock hobby farmers. They also support butcher shops with low-cost beef and lamb which they in turn can supply to customers at lower cost. Through the RMP, the meat can enter the regulated system. Mobile Beef Packers lets small-scale owners of livestock control their product from paddock to plate, and trade animals that came from their property. The award panel agreed this entry was revolutionary, innovative, and addressed the needs of a significant domestic market.

In addition, commended mentions were presented to Roger Harris (Safe Food Pro), the iMonitor team, and Paul Wilson (Chomp). This trio of business professionals demonstrate a range of food safety advancements. They have innovated and provided digital solutions that help food businesses meet their food safety needs.

About the award

Sponsored by New Zealand Food Safety, the Significant Contribution to Food Safety Award is part of the NZIFST Awards.

New Zealand Institute of Food Science and Technology

The award focuses on food safety improvements in any of the following areas:

  • science and research
  • equipment or processing technology
  • product or packaging development
  • industry best practice
  • building and maintaining an effective food safety culture (such as staff engagement processes and practices, education, or training).

This could include developing or improving a food safety process or operation. It could be in one sector, or across a few sectors, and is not time specific.

The winner receives a trophy and a 12-month membership to the NZIFST.

Previous award winners

Previous winners of the Award are Rosie Waller (2019), Professor Nigel French (2018), and Dr Lesley Rhodes (2017).

Last reviewed: