New Zealand Food Awards

The New Zealand Food Awards celebrate New Zealand food and beverage innovation. Find out about the awards and read about previous award winners.

2021 New Zealand Food Awards

Entries for the 2021 New Zealand Food Awards are now closed.

Finalists will be announced on 18 August. Winners will be announced at the gala dinner on 14 October.

New Zealand Food Safety sponsors two awards categories:

  • Food Safety Culture Award
  • Primary Sector Products Award

Primary Sector Products Award

This award is open to primary sector food and beverage products, and recognises researchers and manufacturers who have added value through the introduction of:

  • new varieties, cultivars, or breeds
  • new or alternative harvesting, processing, or packaging to extract or create new or innovative primary sector products.

Food Safety Culture Award

This award recognises food businesses that fully integrate food safety into their business culture. It is an opportunity for New Zealand Food Safety to promote the most effective approach to achieving consistent food safety that focuses on customer safety up and down the food supply chain.

Find out more – New Zealand Food Awards

History of the awards

New Zealand Food Safety/Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI) has been involved with the New Zealand Food Awards for more than 17 years and has been a major sponsor of the awards since 2008. The awards are owned and organised by Massey University. Because of the COVID-19 response, Massey changed the format of the 2020 awards to the NZ Food Heroes Awards, which celebrated food business and community initiatives to look after those in need.

Previous award winners


New Zealand Food Safety’s Outstanding Service Award – New World Foxton.

Jason & Trish Davy from New World Foxton, and Minister Damien O'Connor, NZ Food Heroes Awards 8 October 2020


New Zealand Food Safety's Primary Sector Products Award – retail pouch of Wholegrain Quinoa, Kiwi Quinoa Limited

A pouch of quinoa, alongside a New Zealand Food Awards winner logo.


New Zealand Food Safety's Food Safety Culture Award – Picot Productions Ltd, Nelson

New Zealand Food Safety's Primary Sector Products Award – Alliance Group Ltd, Christchurch with Te Mana Lamb


MPI Food Safety Culture Award – The Pure Food Co

MPI Primary Sector Products Award – T&G Global Limited


MPI Food Safety Culture Award – Open Country Dairy Ltd

MPI Primary Sector Products Award – Spring Sheep Milk Co.


MPI New Cultivars/ Primary Producers Award – NZ Hothouse Ltd


MPI Dell Award – A Verkerk Ltd

Last reviewed: