Forestry Ministerial Advisory Group

Find out about the group, its activities, and members.

Working together to develop the sector

The Forestry Ministerial Advisory Group was set up by the Government in May 2018. The independent group considers and provides advice on a range of forestry topics. Its focus is on how Government and industry can work together to develop the sector and deliver on key initiatives like the One Billion Trees programme.

Aims and activities of the group

The advisory group will meet 4 times a year to receive briefings from government officials, experts, and industry stakeholders. It will give advice to:

  • the Minister of Forestry
  • the Associate Minister of Forestry
  • Te Uru Rākau (Forestry New Zealand).

Find out more

Advisory group members

The advisory group has 9 members and a chair. Te Uru Rākau staff provide administrative support.

Group chair is Dr Warren Parker, who also chairs Pāmu Farms New Zealand (Landcorp) and is the former chief executive at Scion. Other members are:

  • James Palmer, Hawke's Bay Regional Council chief executive
  • David Rhodes, Forest Owners Association chief executive
  • Dean Witehira, manager of Genetics and Tree Crop Timberlands
  • Gina Solomon, Queen Elizabeth II National Trust director
  • Henare Walker, Summit Forests New Zealand general manager
  • Bryan Stanley, chairman of WoodCo and the Wood Processors and Manufacturers Association
  • Fiona Kingsford, Competenz chief executive
  • David Turner, Executive Director, Sequal Lumber
  • Neil Cullen, Farm Forestry Association president.

Find out more about the group's members [PDF, 237 KB]

Who to contact

If you have questions about the group, email

Last reviewed: