New Zealand Biosecurity Awards

The New Zealand Biosecurity Awards 2018 recognise and celebrate outstanding contributions to protecting our country. It's our way of celebrating people and organisations across the country who are contributing to New Zealand's biosecurity – in our communities, businesses, iwi and hapu, government, in the bush, and in our backyards.

Entries open 30 July 2018

Get ready to tell your story.  Entries must be completed using our online form.

A biosecurity celebration

NZ Biosecurity Awards 2018

The New Zealand Biosecurity Awards recognise and celebrate exemplary contributions to:

  • protecting our taonga (precious natural resources)
  • ensuring New Zealand's biosecurity system remains resilient, effective, and world-leading. 


Entrants might be innovators, scientists, communities, or leaders. Anyone who has taken an active interest in the continuous improvement of New Zealand's biosecurity system.

We want to recognise those who are doing their bit for biosecurity.

“The New Zealand Biosecurity Awards are a great way to recognise communities, organisations and individuals who’ve devoted a lot of time and passion into protecting what we have in New Zealand. It’s so unique and it’s so valuable that we need to do all we can to protect it.”

  • 2017 Supreme Award Winner – Great White Butterfly Eradication Project – Roy Grose

Eight award categories

  • Community Award 
  • Māori Award 
  • Industry Award 
  • Local and Central Government Award
  • Science Award
  • Innovation Award (all entries are eligible for this award)
  • Emerging Leader Award (nomination only)
  • Minister's Biosecurity Award (nomination only)

Important dates



30 July 2018

Entries open

31 August 2018

Entries close at 5pm

12 October 2018

Finalists announced

12 November 2018

Winners announced at the awards dinner in Auckland

Find out more

Who to contact

If you have questions, email

Last reviewed:
Has this been useful? Give us your feedback